Writing Inspiration

Inspiration to write can come at anytime, usually when there isn’t a pen & paper or computer to type on. How many times have I been standing in line at the post office or waiting in the doctors office when suddenly a really great story idea hits? I also find myself repeating the idea over and over in my head so I don’t forget it while I find something to write on. Thankfully my phone has a “notes” app on it now so I can easily jot down story ideas as they creep up at the most inopportune times.

I know I like to watch music videos for story inspiration. Music videos can hold some of the greatest visuals while the music musters up feelings of inspiration that may stir ideas for a story. Some of the best story ideas come from a variety of places ranging from artwork to music.

Another great spot for story ideas is dreams. The worst time is always dreams for me, the story idea is usually wonderful but why does it have to be at four in the morning? I can hardly focus to get the idea down and then I’m ridiculously tired the next day for work. But it was worth it…right? Dreams are a tough because you have to get the idea down right away or the story will start to fade. Keep something to write on by the bed and write it down right away so you don’t forget the story.

The best way to fight writers block or get ready to write the next big story is to get away from the blank page and visit websites or blogs that inspire ideas. This does not mean start wasting your time on Facebook. It drives me insane when I hear people complain they don’t have enough time in the day to get what they want done, like finish their story. Especially when I see them posting something on Facebook or Twitter every five minutes. Trust me you have time, you’re just wasting it.

Watching a TV show (one or two episodes not a whole season in one day) or a movie can help inspire ideas. I find that reading a book when I get frustrated with my story is another way to keep me writing. Remember when you read anything that the author also started with a blank page as well.

Don’t plagiarize, these inspirations are here to help you get the story moving not to copy.

So get inspired and keep writing!

 

About Infinity

I was born and raised in Colorado. I have a Master's degree in Psychology and several years experience in coaching, writing and graphic design. View all posts by Infinity

Leave a Reply

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Falling For Camille

The Portrait Of A Transgender Woman

Luke Ink Art

Drawings and Words by a Graphic Novelist

tabatha fae winters

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Three Rivers Deep -- book series

“Action, romance, bad weather & broken crayons. When fierce storms clash over her home valley, a two-souled artist must subdue a Sky Devil, a force of immeasurable size & power.”

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

BEHEAD ALL SATANS

http://www.amazon.com/Behead-All-Satans-M-N-M-D-R/dp/0692453555

Festival for Drama in Film, Screenplays, Novels

Showcasing the of best of DRAMA stories from around the world.

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Poet and the Flea

by G. E. Gallas

Smart Discount Shop

Discover all the creative and ingenious ways to save money !

