Writing Motivation Wednesday

As some of you may have read through an earlier post in my blog I was recently rejected from a publisher. Afterward I lost some of my motivation (okay, a lot of motivation) to keep writing and began to get lost in my cover art and reading instead. There are times when I read a book and think, how did this person get published and I was rejected? So how do we come back from that? I have to remind myself that I don’t want to be that horrible author. I don’t want my book to be the one that people pick up and think, “Wow, how did she get published?”

I want people to read my book and know that the story makes an impact on the reader, hopefully in a good way. I knew I was rushing into the publishing thing especially because the books still need major edits (obviously) but I was eager to see my name in print. After all, this is why I started my blog so that everyone could follow my journey into publish-ville.

For writing Wednesday I’m going to start by giving us a couple tools to keep motivated and writing even when we want to give up:

Take a step away from frustrating projects. I know as a writer we have publishers and fans or we even give ourselves deadlines. But if we find ourselves stuck in a rut or writer’s block sometimes it’s just best to put the project on hold for a minute and work on something else. This does not mean free time to go on Facebook, this means it’s time to start another project or read as a way to get back on track. Some of the best motivators come in the form of our favorite authors or how-to writing books. There is never any reason that we can’t go back and touch up on the basics.

Take a day off. Yes, I know we have lives, cleaning, friends, jobs, family, deadlines, or even school. But why not call in sick just for one day and do the things you want to do not the things you have to do. Take a day to pamper yourself.

On the opposite side of the spectrum, remember to keep writing even if you don’t feel like it. Making yourself write will keep you in the habit of writing every day. This will keep you motivated to continue writing even in the worst of times.

Another way to keep going is to start writing for you. Forget about publishers, fans, friends, and family with their constant questions of “When are you going to be published? Or when is your next book coming out?” We got into writing because our characters had a story to tell so remember to write for you.

There are also great motivational books out there just for writers including The Right to Write by Jennifer Moore and On Writing by Stephen King. So check these books out if you need some additional motivation from great authors.

So get motivated and keep writing!

 

About Infinity

I was born and raised in Colorado. I have a Master's degree in Psychology and several years experience in coaching, writing and graphic design. View all posts by Infinity

3 responses to “Writing Motivation Wednesday

  • Cathy Brockman

    this is such great advice. I had a similar problem last summer and got so caught up in the campaigning and submitting and all that i had no time to write it was utter chaos. i implement a few of the things you mentioned and set up a schedule now i am on tack and less stressed. Hang in there and good luck..

  • SLiraErotica

    This is a great article. I have one book that I need t finish and out it away for quite awhile. I’m almost ready to pick it up again! 😀

Leave a Reply

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Falling For Camille

The Portrait Of A Transgender Woman

Luke Ink Art

Drawings and Words by a Graphic Novelist

tabatha fae winters

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Three Rivers Deep -- book series

“Action, romance, bad weather & broken crayons. When fierce storms clash over her home valley, a two-souled artist must subdue a Sky Devil, a force of immeasurable size & power.”

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

BEHEAD ALL SATANS

http://www.amazon.com/Behead-All-Satans-M-N-M-D-R/dp/0692453555

Festival for Drama in Film, Screenplays, Novels

Showcasing the of best of DRAMA stories from around the world.

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Poet and the Flea

by G. E. Gallas

Smart Discount Shop

Discover all the creative and ingenious ways to save money !

