Excuse Me While I Rant

Heart Book on DeskSo I’m going to go on a pet peeve rant for a moment.

I have read four M/M (sort of) paranormal romance stories this week and not one story had a monogamous relationship in it. Maybe I’m just close minded but I like to read about stories of faithful characters that once they found their soulmate they don’t need anyone else!

Maybe I’m just an old fashioned, romantic geek. Okay, I take that back, I know I am because my husband always teases me that if I ever walked in on him with someone else I would black out, and come back out of it covered in blood and dirt with a shovel in my hand, having no idea what just happened. So I know I’m just made for monogamy.

Needless to say I’m not feeling this non-faithful relationship story telling. I don’t like the threesomes, foursomes, and moresomes either. Don’t characters get jealous anymore when their mates and partners want to sleep with someone else? And when they do sleep with someone else, the other characters just seem to roll over and take it, where is the fighting?

Maybe I’m just missing out on something, but cheating whether okayed by the other party or not is not okay in my book for the person you are suppose to be with for all eternity.

But for the sake of argument I do have a friend who believes that open relationships are the future. Monogamy is a thing of the past and being in a relationship that is open is what people are looking for in a partner. After all we are made to spread our seeds, right?

A big part of me hopes the furture of open relationships is not going to happen but she has a lot of good points.

I also think I’m one of the last of a dying breed called true romantics, who believes in the true one-and-only soulmate theory that one person will complete you. I have found mine. And trust me, if I found my soulmate with all of my crazy ways you can too! (And they don’t want to be with other people!)

Thank you for reading my rant! 🙂

About Infinity

I was born and raised in Colorado. I have a Master's degree in Psychology and several years experience in coaching, writing and graphic design. View all posts by Infinity

One response to “Excuse Me While I Rant

  • Tame

    I for one am a huge fan of monogamy—it’s my preference in any relationship! It’s also my preference when I read as well—I tend to get squickish when I read one that has multi-somes or threesomes or swingers, but they say they’re ‘committed’ to each other and are in a ‘stable relationship’—seems to be a lot of work and headache to me. But that’s just me. . . I hope open relationships aren’t the wave of the future—a bit discouraging then 😦

    Tame

Leave a Reply

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Heart's Table

Love feeds & nurtures. Love is Life. Love the Lord.

Falling For Camille

The Portrait Of A Transgender Woman

Luke Ink Art

Drawings and Words by a Graphic Novelist

tabatha fae winters

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Three Rivers Deep -- book series

“Action, romance, bad weather & broken crayons. When fierce storms clash over an her home valley, a two-souled artist must subdue a Sky Devil, a force of immeasurable size & power.”

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

BEHEAD ALL SATANS

http://www.amazon.com/Behead-All-Satans-M-N-M-D-R/dp/0692453555

Festival for Drama in Film, Screenplays, Novels

Showcasing the of best of DRAMA stories from around the world.

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Poet and the Flea

by G. E. Gallas

Smart Discount Shop

Discover all the creative and ingenious ways to save money !

